To Be Read | April 2015

Another month, another stack of books. Just the way I like it. I’m only going to mention a few, because I feel like I need freedom after all the Tournament reading.

 

The Well of Ascension (Mistborn, #2) The Hero of Ages (Mistborn, #3)The Well of Ascension &The Hero of Ages, by Brandon Sanderson

Books two and three in the Mistborn series.  I’m behind in my #YearOfCosmere reading, so am hoping to get through both of these this month. Of course they’re ridiculously long, but we’ll see what we can do. I don’t want to say much since they’re part of a series, but I did a full non-spoiler review of the first book here, if you’re at all interested.

 

Cloud Atlas   Cloud Atlasby David Mitchell

Of course, this is on my list, as co-host of the epic #CloudAtlasAlong with April. In case you missed it, you can see all the details about the readalong here and sign-up here. From what I understand, this novel takes place in the same world as The Bone Clocks, so I expect nothing but greatness.

 

Ruby   Ruby, by Cynthia Bond

The setting is 1950s east Texas, and the person is a young girl named Ruby, who flees a violent childhood as soon as she can to New York to start a new life. This book has gotten quite a bit of buzz, and I’ve heard it’s horrifying, heart-breaking, and important.

 

I am also an avid listener of audiobooks, and always just check out whatever’s available on OverDrive via the library.

 

On a related note: do any of you have a subscription for Scribd, and could tell me your thoughts? Is it worth it? Do they have a vast selection of audiobooks? Oh, and what are you hoping to read this month?

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “To Be Read | April 2015

  1. I just started using OverDrive with my library in March and I am so obsessed with it! I love listening to audiobooks while I am working and some of the ones on Kindle Unlimited weren’t that great, so when I found out I could listen to books from my library on OverDrive, I was in heaven. lol! 🙂

    Like

    1. I know, it’s the best! Sometimes there’s nothing I feel like reading though, and then I put a bunch of stuff on hold. OBVIOUSLY, it all becomes available at exactly the same time, but ya know – I get through it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. That’s exactly what happened to me, lol. I had put three books on hold and they all ended up coming available at the same time. Now I’m scrambling to get them all done before they get returned haha.

        Like

      2. I try to somewhat regularly stalk my holds, because you can suspend holds for a period of time – so if it looks like 2 things might come up at once, I’ll suspend one. Doesn’t always work…

        Like

  2. I have Ruby on my shelf, but I’m scared of it. I’ve heard it’s amazing, though! I’ll have to pad it with light reads, maybe.

    Like

  3. Ooooh I wish I liked Cloud Atlas more than I did, but I found it kind of disappointing. I want to try Scribd SO BAD. At first I was an Oyster fan, but now that scribd does audiobooks AND comics, I’m intrigued. I was browsing their library as much as I could without an account the other day and it seems pretty promising.

    Like

    1. I can totally see why it’s not for everyone. I just don’t know anyone who’s done it, so I was looking for a little real life testimony, but think I might just give it a try. I’ve kind of exhausted the library and overdrive audiobooks selection of what’s always available without long wait lists, and kind of want to be able to listen to exactly what I want when I want it, instead of settling for whatever’s available.

      Like

Leave a Reply

