What I Read (So Far) | March 2015

I feel like I’ve been reading so many big books lately, and am in need of a few quick reads in the near future. But alas, I’m making my way through another big-ish book currently, which is also the last read I’m tackling for the Tournament. What is your definition of a big book? Are you easily intimidated by a book’s girth? I figure, anything over 500 pages is “big.” Ok, tangent over… I’ve read 2.5 books and listened to 2 audiobooks so far this month!

 

BOOKS:

 

All the Light We Cannot See   All the Light We Cannot See, by Anthony Doerr (2014)

This is a WWII historical fiction novel about a French blind girl and a Nazi youth, and how their lives connect. Overall, I really liked this book, and the writing was pristine. I will say it was a bit of a slow read for me, but I’m not really sure why… I did a full spoiler-free review of this book, which you can check out here . [4/5 stars]

 

A Brave Man Seven Storeys Tall: A Novel   A Brave Man Seven Storeys Tall, by Will Chancellor (2014)

I got a little less than half way through this, and just had to stop. First off, I’m kind of over the whole pages and pages of substance-induced haze descriptions. Secondly, there were some great sentences as I was reading, but as it went on, the writing was too flowery and pretentious, and seemed to have no purpose other than to be flowery and pretentious. I mean, GET TO THE POINT ALREADY. Maybe I’ll come back to it, as it has been so highly regarded, but not anytime soon. [Unrated]

 

Redeployment   Redeployment, by Phil Klay (2014)

This was utterly heartbreaking, but definitely a read worth making time for. Some of the stories were better than others, but isn’t that always the way with short story collections. I had a few issues with this, but overall was moved by this collection, and would recommend it across the board. [3/5 stars].

 

AUDIOBOOKS:

 

Lucky Us   Lucky Usby Amy Bloom (2014)

Meh – this just wasn’t for me. It’s a story about two girls, who leave their midwestern home, in search of fame and fortune. There were some promising sections and themes, but overall this book was very on-the-surface, with poor development of both the plot and characters. This resulted in me not caring at all, and I was frankly, quite bored. I stuck with it because I had heard it was worth reading for the ending alone – yeah, not so much. It’s not terrible, but I wouldn’t rush out to read this if I were you. [2.5/5 stars]

 

Matilda   Matilda, by Roald Dahl (1988)

Roald Dahl is easily one of my most read and most loved authors as a child, and Matilda is high on the list of all time favorites. When I heard that Kate Winslet narrates the audiobook version, I IMMEDIATELY put it on hold at the library, and the wait was WELL worth it. Kate Winslet’s use of voices and various accents was pure perfection, and I completely and utterly enjoyed myself. If you loved this book way back when, I guarantee you will love it still, and why not experience it in a new way. Guys… It was excellent. [5/5 stars]

 

What’s the best book you’ve read so far this month? As always, I take suggestions – especially for some non-big quick reads!

 

 

14 thoughts on “What I Read (So Far) | March 2015

  1. Good for you for DNFing something that just wasn’t working!

    It’s a bit shameful to admit it, but I’ve never read Matilda, as much as she’s my spirit animal… will have to remedy that! Kate Winslet as audio narrator sounds so promising.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. DO IT. It’s hard to know what you’ll think of it experiencing it for the first time as an adult, because nostalgia was so much a part of my enjoyment in it, but I would think there is still plenty to get out of it. Roald Dahl’s writing is full of extreme characters, and Kate Winslet really made that all come alive in her portrayal. Let me know how you like it, if you end up checking it out. Can I join your pack of spirit animals? 😉

      Like

  2. Your reactions to these books were more or less what I expected. All the Light and Redeployment are still on my TBR and I have high hopes for them both. Based on what you’d previously told me about Lucky Us, I’ve crossed that one off the list (for now, anyway) and I don’t think the Brave Man would be my cup of tea either! I didn’t know Kate Winslet had recorded and audiobook version of Matilda, but I will keep a lookout for it – it sounds excellent! I loved the Harry Potter books read by Stephen Fry – the reader makes all the difference! Roald Dahl was also a childhood staple for me, and Matilda was one of my first fictional best friends. Great start to the month, I’d say!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, the audiobook was excellent! I kind of want to go re-read all my Roald Dahl faves (The BFG, Fantastic Mr. Fox, The Witches….). I’ve re-read the HP books SO MANY TIMES, and I think the next re-read will be in audio form, for a little something different! 🙂

      Like

      1. If our current readalong is the roaring success I think it will be, I’d love to re-read some Dahl. It’s been years since I’ve read any of his books! He also wrote some grown-up stuff (including my favourite short story of all time) if you ever want to foray into them…. I’d highly recommend HP as read by Stephen Fry. He does the voices and everything. It really doesn’t get any better!

        Like

  3. 500 pages and over is definitely what I call BIG. I’m happy my tournament reading is over and I can focus on picking my own books. My favorite so far this month has been “Smoke Gets In My Eyes” which I audio booked. Loved it! Not sure if it would be a quick read but it was definitely a palette cleanser after all those heavy literature books from the TOB.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m definitely ready to move on from ToB reading, but am SO glad I was able to read so many of the books! Makes the “competition” that much more fun!

      I’ve heard great things about that book, as well as the audiobook version specifically, and it’s definitely on my to read list. Maybe I’ll go see if the library has it on audio…..

      Like

    2. Dang – they only have the book book format. Maybe I’ll wait a bit, and they’ll end up getting it in audio… Do you have audible? I’m trying to exhaust the audiobooks from my library before I invest in audible, even though I know I’d use the heck out of it.

      Like

  4. Oh yay, I loved reading Matilda as a kid. My daughter really enjoys audiobooks though. I’ll have to get this version!

    Like

Leave a Reply

