Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

Awww shucks, pa… I was nominated by the lovely Backlist Books! In addition to her thoughtful reviews, one of my favorite features on her blog is Book Thoughts on Thursday, where she discusses quite eloquently an interesting book related topic. Definitely worth checking out if you haven’t already!

Now for the rules: I answer the 10 questions given to me, then nominate 10 others, and ask them 10 questions of my own! Yessss…. book gossip.

 

Backlist Books’ Questions:

1. What 2015 book are you most excited about?

HausfrauI am really dying to read Hausfrauby Jill Alexander Essbaum, and am anxiously awaiting the moment I can add it to my collection, and display it in all its glory.

I also can’t wait for Winter, the fourth and concluding book in the Lunar Chronicles. Each book is a fairy tale re-telling, but with cyborgs, and this installment is inspired by Snow White.

 

2. Which blog did you discover recently that you can’t believe you didn’t know about?

Shannon over at River City Reading. I LOVE her reviews, as she always has an interesting perspective, and a way of recommending books that makes me immediately want to run to the nearest bookstore/library! Plus, her blog is just so pretty.

 

3. What’s the best book outside of your regular genres/topics/authors you’ve read in the past year?

All the Birds, SingingI am an ecclectic reader, and read across genres, however a book that immediately comes to mind is All the Birds, Singing by Evie Wyld (review here). I had seen this book around, and it was getting a fair amount of buzz, but the synopsis was not compelling in ANY way. However, when it was short-listed for the Tournament, I knew I would ultimately have to pick it up, and am SO glad I did! I read this a bit ago, and it has still stuck with me. I absolutely recommend giving it a chance.

 

4. Judging books by their covers: yay or nay?

Both. I mean, who doesn’t love a pretty cover, and obviously a beautiful or interesting cover design draws the eye. But, in the same breath, I won’t NOT read a book just because it has a bad cover.

 

5. What’s your favorite book-to-movie adaptation?

Anne of Green Gables   

I’d have to say Anne of Green Gables – after all, who doesn’t want a bosom friend, or to date Gilbert? But… one can’t deny that Clueless (a.k.a. Emma, by Jane Austen) is nothing short of perfection.

 

6. Which fictional world do you wish you could move into?

I mean, the obvious answer is the Harry Potter world. I wonder if a day will ever go by that I don’t mention Harry Potter…. let’s hope not.

 

7. Hardcover or paperback?

Both have their merits. I like hardcovers because I don’t have to worry about cracking the spine, but man, they get heavy when reading in bed. Paperbacks are nice as they are light weight, and less expensive. I am really digging the super floppy ones lately. I always worry about cracking the spine on my paperbacks, because I like them to stay pretty when possible.

 

8. How many books do you read in a week, on average, and are you happy with your number?

My reading is highly variable based on several factors, including but not limited to: my work schedule (which is not even close to a “normal” Monday through Friday gig); how long the book is; how easy to read the book is; and, you know, which way the wind is blowing at 2:36AM five Wednesdays ago… For reals though, I usually read at least 1-2 books per week, sometimes more, and I’m generally pretty happy with my reading progress.

 

9. Which books are on the top of your TBR list?

Almost Famous Women: Stories   Bag of Bones   The Well of Ascension (Mistborn, #2)   Ruby

SO MANY! The books coming up next for me will mostly likely be Almost Famous Women by Megan Mayhew Bergman, Bag of Bones by Stephen King, The Well of Ascension, by Brandon Sanderson, and Ruby by Cynthia Bond. A little variety, which is how I like to roll.

 

10. Because this is Backlist Books, which books published at least a year ago are highest on your TBR?

Never Let Me GoThe majority of my 15 Books to Read in 2015 project are backlist books, and I’m a HUGE fan of backlist reading. I think the one I’m most highly anticipating is Never Let Me Go, by Kazuo Ishiguro. I’ve heard so many amazing things about his body of work in general, and specifically about this book.

 

 

Now for my short reign of power, I’d like to formally nominate these lovelies. If you don’t want to do a full blog post, feel free to leave your answers below in the comments!

  1. April at The Steadfast Reader
  2. Shannon at River City Reading
  3. Monika at A Lovely Bookshelf
  4. Marisa at The Daily Dosage
  5. Emily at Books, the Universe, and Everything
  6. Ariana & Amber at Shelf Notes
  7. Tanya at Girlxoxo
  8. Rory at Fourth Street Review
  9. Amy at Read a Latte
  10. And of course, I will throw my questions back to my new gal-pal over at Backlist Books.

 

My questions, as follows:

  1. Would you rather: lose the dust jacket of your favorite hard cover, or dog ear every other page in your favorite book?
  2. What is one genre you haven’t read much from, and would like to further explore?
  3. Who is one blogger whose reading opinion you trust, and always will add to your TBR pile based on their reviews and recommendations?
  4. What is your favorite place/position to read in?
  5. What is the one book/series from your childhood that sparked your love of reading?
  6. What is the book you are currently reading, and what’s up next for you?
  7. If you had to choose, would you rather read only e-books or only physical books for the rest of your life?
  8. Do you utilize your local library, and why or why not?
  9. What is one interest or hobby, outside of anything bookish related?
  10. Ask yourself a question, and answer it!

 

 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

  1. Love this! I’m going to try my hardest to work on this but with the TOB taking up most of my free mornings…

    Also, I love Anne of Green Gables too, classic growing up. I have to give you mad props for the excellent questions you have come up with to throw at us. 🙂

    Like

    1. I know, I’m DYING to read Hausfrau. Not too much longer of a wait! I LOVED Mistborn, and can’t wait to get to the next one in the series. Have you read a lot of Sanderson?

      Like

      1. Yup yup! Pretty much read all of his books except for…the Reckoners series (I think that’s what it’s called), Words of Radiance (will get my hands on it once my book buying ban ends, lol), the books he finished for The wheel of Time (only read the first book by Robert Jordan) and the odd ebook 🙂 Otherwise, read and enjoyed all of his other books 😀 Brandon Sanderson surely knows how to write an intriguing story (not to mention write fairly quickly xP)

        Like

      2. Glad to know I have some good reading ahead of me! I’m reading along this year for #YearOfCosmere, and will be reading one Sanderson book per month! 🙂

        Like

  2. First of all SORRY it took me so very long to comment on this post! For some reason I thought I had, then I realized I hadn’t on account of wanting to answer questions and not having time when I read it, and now here I am and I’m WOEFULLY late.

    I’m re-reading Anne of Green Gables right now for the Reeder Reads Green Gables Readathon and it’s just so magical. I also re-watched the movie because, well, any excuse – and it’s every bit as good as I remember!

    I’m so glad you mentioned the super-floppy paperbacks. YES. I cannot even tell you how happy they make me! I’m one of those who will leave a book looking exactly as it did on the shelf after I finish reading it. I abhor damaging books, and would rather a hundred papercuts over breaking a spine!

    And now, on to your questions!

    1. Would you rather: lose the dust jacket of your favorite hard cover, or dog ear every other page in your favorite book? Oh MAN. Way to start off with a tough one, Katie! Torturer. Okay, I guess if pressed, I’d lose the dust jacket… but I really don’t think it’s fair to make us choose.

    2. What is one genre you haven’t read much from, and would like to further explore? Hmmm. Well I always feel like I’m missing out on genres I don’t read as much. I think probably mystery – I used to read a fair amount, but haven’t in recent years. I’m starting to get back into it, though! I also don’t read anywhere near as diversely as I should, so I want to fix that. And I want to read more Canadian literature, being Canadian ‘n’ all! It’s a long list.

    3. Who is one blogger whose reading opinion you trust, and always will add to your TBR pile based on their reviews and recommendations? Hmmmm. Well, you are beginning to be one of them! I tend to trust Katrin from Land of Candy Canes and Martha from I’d Rather Be Reading (they’re not exclusively book bloggers, but they’re both avid readers and I love talking books with them). Also Karen from One More Page, who writes excellent reviews and has recommended some amazing books to me!

    4. What is your favorite place/position to read in? In bed or in a reclining armchair. Though I’ll read basically anywhere!

    5. What is the one book/series from your childhood that sparked your love of reading? A Little Princess, all the Roald Dahl books and the Trixie Belden series!

    6. What is the book you are currently reading, and what’s up next for you? I’m reading a bunch right now. Hausfrau, Almost Famous Women (with you!), The Fever with Julianne from Outlandish Lit, Anne of Green Gables and I’m still kind of working on a few others…. Someone Is Watching is my next review book, and I’m also eyeing Etta and Otto and Russell and James.

    7. If you had to choose, would you rather read only e-books or only physical books for the rest of your life? PHYSICAL. I mean, e-books are convenient and I’ve got a bad back so it’s hard to carry a book around, but I would never want to have to do without real books for the rest of my life. I just love them too much!

    8. Do you utilize your local library, and why or why not? I don’t… I’ve got so many TBR books lying around that I don’t really need to, plus there isn’t one walking distance. I used to all the time though, and I am sure I will again in the future! (That I have an unreasonable fear of bed bugs and there was a bed bug outbreak in a library in the area a couple of years back didn’t help….)

    9. What is one interest or hobby, outside of anything bookish related? I love TV – I watch waaaaay too much of it. Usually on my computer in the background while I’m blogging, but still. I also like to knit, and I’m really trying to cook more, though I find it more stressful than anything!

    10. Ask yourself a question, and answer it! Aw, man! I used all mine on YOU! Okay, I’ll answer one of my own – favourite book to movie adaptation. I think there are lots of good ones, but my top faves are This Is Where I Leave You by Jonathan Tropper and Long Way Down by Nick Hornby. Both upped the ante on humour and left me super impressed.

    That’s it that’s all! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Excellent answers! I have seen either of your #10 answer movies or read the books yet, so I’ll have to get on that! Thanks again for the nomination, and answering my questions 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

