6 Degrees | Wild

6 Degrees of Separation is a meme invented by Annabel Smith and Emma Chapman. A different book is chosen each month, and then you link six additional books in a chain based on various connections of your choosing. Sounds fun, right?!

 

Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail In March, the chain begins with Wild, by Cheryl Strayed, which unfortunately I haven’t read yet. I really need to fix that! This is a story about a young woman, who decides to leave her recent losses and her home behind, and hike the Pacific Crest Trail alone.

 

 

StardustCheryl took quite the trek, and who doesn’t love an epic journey tale, of which Stardust, by Neil Gaiman does not fail to deliver.  The story is of young Tristan, who similarly leaves his family and home in search of a fallen star to impress his lady crush.

 

 

The Night CircusI listened to both Stardust and The Night Circus as audiobooks, and absolutely feel these both are best enjoyed in that format. Neil Gaimen narrates his own Stardust, and Jim Dale narrates The Night Circus. Excellent narration can make or break the audiobook experience, and neither of these gentlemen disappoint, and truly bring these stories to life.

 

 

Burial RitesBoth The Night Circus and Burial Rites are astmospheric books, which score major likability points for me. The way Hannah Kent describes the Iceland scenes in Burial Rites, made me almost feel like I was there, and it really appealed to all the senses while reading.

 

 

The Enchanted

Both Burial Rites and The Enchanted  have a sympathetic priest/pastor character who each devotes his time, and bestows kindness towards the prisoner(s) awaiting their execution.

 

 

 

RebeccaThe main narrator in The Enchanted is a nameless convict on death row. In Du Maurier’s Rebecca, the main protagonist is also nameless throughout the entirety of the novel, and is discussed only as Mrs. DeWinter. Her given name is never revealed, adding to the mysteriousness of this book.

 

 

Angela's AshesI read Rebecca fairly recently, after meaning to read it for the last 15+ years! Another book I REALLY should have read about that many years ago as well, and will absolutely be getting to this year, is Angela’s Ashes.

 

 

So my chain as follows:  Journey > Audiobook > Atmospheric Setting > Sympathetic Religious Personnel > Nameless Main Character > Should Have Read A Long Time Ago.

 

Check out Annabel’s chain here and Emma’s chain here, and link yours in the comments below!

 

 

20 thoughts on “6 Degrees | Wild

    1. I’m a long time fan of Harry Potter, and I know Jim Dale narrates those audio books. I think the next time I’m hankering for an HP reread, I will experience them in a new way, with the audio format. What others books has he narrated that you would recommend? Thanks for commenting!

      Like

    1. I actually have never seen the Stardust movie, but heard it’s pretty good. I would absolutely recommend listening to it as an audiobook! Let me know how you like The Enchanted! I thought it was a strange read, but I really liked it! Thanks for commenting!

      Like

    1. Those were both 3 star books for me, which means I liked them fine enough, but nothing amazing. But I DID love the narration of both! Excited to get to Angela’s Ashes this year, and thanks for checking out my chain!

      Like

  1. I STILL haven’t read Burial Rites, although both you and Annabel Smith have mentioned it on your chain this month. It’s been many years since I read Angela’s Ashes, but I do remember enjoying it. Another memoir with similar themes is The Colour of Water by James McBride. I think I read one soon after the other, and although I liked them both, The Colour of Water somehow seemed more hopeful.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I loved Burial Rites a lot, but it’s not necessarily a book for everyone. If you like atmospheric books, then you may like it. I will check that book out, and thanks for the recommendation. Heading over to your chain now! 🙂

      Like

    1. Sometimes it can’t be forced! I’m sure you’ll be able to get it on a chain coming up! I love this meme so much, because it’s SO FUN to see where other people’s minds take them. Thanks so much for checking it out, and commenting! 🙂

      Like

  2. Love this chain! It just reminds me that I need to read Stardust still (and I will obviously listen to it because I want Neil Gaiman to narrate my life. Move over, Morgan Freeman.) I also had no idea that Jim Dale did The Night Circus. I loved the book when I read it, but I may have to revisit it audio-style!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think Gaiman’s work is best enjoyed in audio. His books are already so fairy-tale like, and fairy tales are meant to be read out loud! Listening to The Night Circus, really amps up the whole “atmospheric” thing 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

