#FridayReads | March 6, 2015

I work a lot this weekend, so I’m not overly hopeful regarding the amount of reading I’ll be getting done. Most likely just a few minutes here, and a few pages there. Such a bummer because #FlashReadathon is going down this weekend, and I could go for some of that!

On a positive note, I have a lovely lunch planned on Saturday with the hubs and my in-laws at a delicious little place, that has become a new favorite!

 

Currently reading…

 

The Paying Guests   The Paying Guests, by Sarah Waters

I’m only about 100 pages in, and so far it’s enjoyable and easy to read. I’m hoping for some more character development and depth as it continues.

 

Redeployment   Redeploymentby Phil Klay

Still reading this! I’ve just been reading a few stories per day, and am almost done, which is good because it’s due back to the library tomorrow! Some stories are better than others, but isn’t that always the way with short story collections.

 

I think these two will be the last Tournament books I get to, which will put me at 11-1/2 read out of the 16 books! (I gave up on A Brave Man Seven Storeys Tall). Can’t wait for the discussions to start next week!

 

Currently listening…

 

The Scorpio Races   The Scorpio Races, by Maggie Stiefvater

I’ve been trying to get through listening to this for weeks! I’m already a ways into it, but other audiobooks I had on hold kept sneaking up and taking precedence. I’m enjoying it so far, and like the alternating male and female narrators for the the two different perspectives.

 

What have you been reading and loving lately? Any Milwaukeeans in the house?

 

6 thoughts on “#FridayReads | March 6, 2015

  1. That restaurant look delicious, very jealous. I’m with you on the ‘rather be reading’ weekend. I have to pack for our upcoming move. Packing books = SO depressing. How do I pick which ones to leave out to read? I’m interested to see your take on “The Paying Guests” since that is one I didn’t read from the TOB.

    Like

    1. There is nothing fun about packing – after moving like 4 times in the last 5 years, I’m hoping to finally be in my forever home – or at least forever, for awhile! I’m always nervous that my books will get ruined in the packing process. Good luck with your packing, and your move! I’m liking The Paying Guests so far, but am only like 100ish pages in, so we’ll see how it goes. CAN’T WAIT for the Tournament to start next week!!!

      Like

  2. Maggie Stiefvater is The Raven Boys, right? I’ve had that on my nightstand for a while now. I’m interested to hear how you like The Paying Guests – so much media around it is pushing me closer to picking it up. I’ll be finishing The Buried Giant, which I’m sad to say I’m not enjoying. An NPR book reviewer mentioned having to keep re-reading pages because she’d space out and forget what she read, and I’m having the same experience (perhaps by design since the main characters are awash in a mist of amnesia??). Sad, I love Ishiguro otherwise

    Like

    1. Yes, she also wrote The Raven Boys series, which I haven’t read yet, but heard good things about. I haven’t read any Sarah Waters, so The Paying Guests will be my first… so far so good, but am hoping for a little more as I get into it further. I’ve heard so much buzz about The Buried Giant this week, and from what I can tell you’re not alone in your letdown feelings. Ashamedly, I haven’t read any Isiguro yet, but have both Never Let Me Go and The Remains of the Day waiting for my on nightstand for SOON reading! Hopefully you’ll read something fantastic up next, and thanks for commenting! 🙂

      Like

  3. Next year I hope to be on top of the TOB list. I only read 5 so my predictions are useless. I am still in a reading slump after A Little Life so I am hoping some Stephen King-Bag of Bones-does the trick this weekend. I live just under 100 miles southwest of Milwaukee! 🙂

    Like

    1. I want to read A Little Life SO BAD! It’s so funny because I JUST picked up Bag of Bones from the library today! I’ve only read The Green Mile by King (like 10+ years ago) so it will be fun to try something else! Let me know how you’re liking it once you get going! Always nice to “meet” a fellow midwesterner, and brrrrr cold. Thanks for commenting 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

