Tournament of Books 2015 | Predictions

If you missed my ToB post which gives more details, you can check it out here, or go to The Morning News original announcement post here for more background information.  The brackets were FINALLY released, and I’m here today to share my predictions.

These are not necessarily my personal feelings, although in some cases it is, but is how I think things will shake out. The most challenging match-up, in my opinion, is An Untamed State versus Station Eleven.  I think which ever one loses initially here, will re-enter in the zombie round for sure! I also *could* see All the Light We Cannot See taking The Bone Clocks, but I’m hoping not.

ToB15 Brackets Predictions FINAL

[Click on image to make larger]

I will again list all the books for you, just as a refresher. Currently I’ve read 9 out of the 16 books – which I’ve crossed off below.  I have plans to attempt to read 3-4 more of the books, which I mentioned in my TBR, before their discussion dates (which you can find here).

Silence Once Begun  Silence Once Begun, by Jesse Ball

A Brave Man Seven Storeys Tall: A Novel  A Brave Man Seven Stories Tall, by Will Chancellor

All the Light We Cannot See  All the Light We Cannot See, by Anthony Doerr

Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay (Neopolitan Novels, #3)  Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay, by Elena Ferrante

An Untamed State  An Untamed State, by Roxane Gay

Wittgenstein Jr  Wittgenstein Jr.by Iyer Lars

A Brief History of Seven Killings  A Brief History of Seven Killingsby Marlon James

Redeployment  Redeployment, by Phil Klay

Station Eleven  Station Eleven, by Emily St. John Mandel

The Bone Clocks  The Bone Clocks, by David Mitchell

Everything I Never Told You  Everything I Never Told You, by Celeste Ng

Dept. of Speculation  Dept. of Speculation, by Jenny Offill

Adam  Adam, by Ariel Schrag

Annihilation (Southern Reach, #1)  Annihilation, by Jeff VanderMeer

The Paying Guests  The Paying Guests, by Sarah Waters

All the Birds, Singing  All the Birds, Singing, by Evie Wyld

 

Let me know some of your predictions below, and which match-up you think will be the most interesting?

 

17 thoughts on “Tournament of Books 2015 | Predictions

  1. Everyone posting about this is making me itch to read some more of the contenders! As of now, I’ve only read Annihilation. I’d really love to get to All the Birds, Singing, The Bone Clocks, and Station Eleven before the discussions begin in earnest. An Untamed State is on my list as well, but it seems like one I want to read when I’m ready for it.

    Can’t wait to see how things turn out!

    Like

    1. The Bone Clocks and Station Eleven are definitely my favorites from the list (reviews on both), but I really did enjoy All the Birds, Singing as well. An Untamed State was unexpected and harrowing, and yes, the right mood is probably a good thing to absorb it as it deserves. Both Station Eleven and All the Birds were quick reads for me, so if you’re trying to squeak a few more in, I would start there!

      Like

  2. I love seeing people’s brackets! I’m with you on most of your picks, but i’ve only read 6 of the books. It kills me that An Untamed State and Station Eleven are up against each other in the first round!

    Like

    1. What’s your favorite of the ones you’ve read so far? I’m really hopeful for The Bone Clocks, but I really could see All the Light taking it, which would be fine I guess. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

    1. The three tops I think will the The Bone Clocks, All the Light, and Station Eleven… I’m gunning for The Bone Clocks, but could see that not pulling the win. Thanks for commenting!

      Like

  3. I love seeing your brackets and remain completely envious of how many tournament books you were able to read! I’m very excited for March 9 – should be a great ToB this year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

