To Be Read | March 2015

First off, I want to say thank you to April at The Steadfast Reader and Monika at A Lovely Bookshelf, who both kindly mentioned my little ‘ole blog this month, here and here. It means a lot to me, especially as a new blogger! So if you’re here from over there, thanks for taking the time, and welcome!

Broken record anyone… guess what I’ll be reading? Yup, sure enough, more Tournament of Books reading! Stay tuned for my brackets predictions later this week! Reading down to the wire here… was hoping I’d be farther along, but I didn’t get as much reading done in February as I had anticipated or hoped.  What can a girl do? So far I’ve read 8 of the 16 short-listed books, so I still have some work to do, and have admitted some degree of defeat, knowing I just won’t be able to get to all of them. Additionally, I do have two non-ToB books I will be reading this month as well, so let’s start with those.

 

Lucky Us   Lucky Us, by Amy Bloom

This is my in real life work book/wine club pick this month.  It’s pretty short, and I’m already a little bit into this on audio, and it’s only okay for me so far. It has pretty mixed reviews, but we’ll see what I think in the end. It takes place in the 1940s and centers around two girls who leave their home, and are looking for fame.

 

The Well of Ascension (Mistborn, #2)   The Well of Ascensionby Brandon Sanderson

This is the second installment in the Mistborn series, and March’s pick for the #YearOfCosmere readalong.  I don’t want to say much about this since it’s the second in a series, but I did a full non-spoiler review of the first book here, if you’re interested. I. CAN’T. EVEN. WAIT.

 

All the Light We Cannot See   All the Light We Cannot See, by Anthony Doerr

I’m about half way through this right now, and for the most part am enjoying it. It’s about a blind French girl and a young Nazi youth during WWII. I mean, you’d have to live in a hole to have never heard of this book, so I’m glad to finally be reading it.

 

The Paying Guests   The Paying Guests, by Sarah Waters

I’ve heard amazing things about Sarah Waters in general, but haven’t read anything by her yet. The story’s setting is London in the 1920s, and involves a widow and her unmarried daughter (the horror!) who, in desperation, are forced to take in lodgers to make ends meet.

 

A Brave Man Seven Storeys Tall: A Novel  A Brave Man Seven Storeys Tallby Will Chancellor

I didn’t get to this one last month, so we’ll try again. This is a debut novel, about a college athlete who sustains a terrible injury, altering his life trajectory, and then mysteriously disappears.

 

Silence Once Begun   Silence Once Begun, by Jesse Ball

I’ve been sitting at #1 on the library’s OverDrive holds list for what feels like FOREVER, so really starting to wonder when it’ll be my turn… If it doesn’t come in time to read before the ToB discussion date, I’ll probably forgo this one for awhile. Anyhoo, this is a crime story about a convicted prisoner who refuses to speak despite his approaching execution.

 

I am also an avid listener of audiobooks, and always just check out whatever’s available on OverDrive via the library.

 

What are you hoping to read this month?

 

 

22 thoughts on “To Be Read | March 2015

  1. Oh how I wish I could read so many of the ToB books before it started! What a great goal.

    I’ve only read one Sarah Waters book before (The Night Watch) – but I enjoyed it a lot. I’m planning on picking up The Paying Guests when it comes out in paperback. As it is, I have so much on the To Be Read Immediately list that I know if I buy it in hardcover it will probably sit around unread and then the paperback will come out and I still won’t have read it. I hate when that happens! 😀

    Like

    1. I know! I would have checked it out from the library, but it had SUCH a long waiting list, and I really wanted to get to it for the Tournament. Thanks so much for tuning in to my blog, and for commenting! Happy reading!!!

      Like

  2. Silence Once Begun is really something. I’d check it out if you have time. Very strange, not necessarily the best book I’ve ever read, but it’s haunting. I still think about it, and that’s saying something. I’d like to see what you think of it!
    Happy March!

    Like

    1. That’s really good to know! It actually JUST came into the library for me via OverDrive last night, so I think I’ll be getting to it after all. Thanks for commenting 🙂

      Like

    1. I like making a TBR… I usually read at least 5 books per month, so I try to limit it to that number, to then allow for mood reading on top! Thanks for checking in, and commenting! 🙂

      Like

  3. I’m interested in nearly every single one of these books – particularly All the Light We Cannot See, The Paying Guests (both of which I started and haven’t finished yet) and Lucky Us (as you already know!). I think you’ve got some good reading ahead of you here!

    Like

    1. I just finished All the Light, and am working on my review, but overall I liked it quite a bit. The Paying Guests will be coming up next for me, when I’m through my current reads. Lucky Us is meh for me, and I’m ready for it to be over, but I’ll find you on twitter and give you the full report! We should do a buddy read next month… if you’re interested?

      Like

      1. I can’t wait to read your review! All the Light is one I started, and really, really liked, so I decided to save it. (I do that sometimes, there are books I’ve been “saving” for years). But I have been thinking about picking it up again lately! I love the cover, the premise and the style. Which bodes well! I’m glad I didn’t buy Lucky Us, this way I can borrow it or something if you say it’s worth trying, but won’t feel married to finishing it. I’d love to do a buddy read!! I’m reading The Fever with Julianne right now and it’s so much fun!

        Like

  4. Well we read like 30% of The Fever in one night, so I don’t anticipate it taking too long, plus I’m between jobs right now – so I can make time whenever you’ve got it! Any ideas on which books you’re likely to read in the near future?

    Like

    1. Hmmm… well I know you commented on The Magicians trilogy, so that might be a good one. Kindred has been on my list FOREVER… Never Let Me Go has been calling me for the last month, and might have good discussion points. I’ve actually never done a buddy read, but have wanted to! I’m completely open for suggestions if there’s something you’ve been eyeing up as well. I could maybe even do something later this month once I’ve read the few others books that “HAVE” to happen first.

      Like

      1. How about either Almost Famous Women or Never Let Me Go? I can then set aside the book, and you can just let me know when you are ready to start – no deadlines, no pressure! 🙂 (SO excited. I haven’t done an official “buddy read” before, but I assume it basically means we’re just reading the same book and chat about it… which I am totally down for! Love discussing books when they’re fresh.)

        Like

Leave a Reply

