What I Read | February 2015

Each month I will do mini-reviews of all the books I read. I had a bit of a slow reading month overall, likely due to the two books over 600 pages in this wrap-up.  The month was mostly dominated by Tournament of Books reading, and at this point in time, I’ve read 8 of the 16 books on the list. I was hoping to be further along, but – oh well. In total, I read 4 books, and listened to 4 audiobooks!

 

In case you missed my mid-month wrap up, check it out here, where I discuss the books I read earlier this month, shown below.

An Untamed State   The Ocean at the End of the Lane   Brown Girl Dreaming   The Bone Clocks   Annihilation (Southern Reach, #1)

 

Now on to the books for second half of the month.

 

Books:

 

Mistborn: The Final Empire (Mistborn, #1)   The Final Empireby Brandon Sanderson (2006)

I read this as February’s read for #YearOfCosmere. I did a full spoiler-free review of this book, which you can find here, so I’m really not going to say anything other than I loved it, and it lives up to the hype. [4.5/5 stars]

 

Adam   Adam, by Ariel Schrag (2014)

Wow – this is bad. SO BAD. On so many levels. There are just no words… I mean there are, they’re just not suitable for any place other than the depths of my mind. Can’t say I wasn’t warned. [1/5 stars].

 

Audiobooks:

 

Mr. Kiss and Tell (Veronica Mars #2)   Mr. Kiss and Tell, by Rob Thomas & Jennifer Graham (2015)

This is the second installment in the Veronica Mars mystery book series. Honestly, this was a bit of a letdown.  More Weevil and more Logan, yes, but not necessarily in a hugely satisfying way. The absence of Kristen Bell as narrator was severely felt on my part, and unless she narrates in the future I likely won’t tune in on audio anymore. The narrator of this I found a bit annoying, most notably her “dude voice.” The plot was overall less compelling, and although I always appreciate Veronica’s bad-assery, she was bugging me with how she was behaving towards and about Logan. [3/5 stars]

 

What was the best book you read this month? I’d love to hear about it!

 

9 thoughts on “What I Read | February 2015

  1. Some of the books you read sound really interesting! 🙂 I did a recap on my blog too. Two books I read this month that I absolutely loved were Greyhound by Steffan Piper and Take Me With You by Catherine Ryan Hyde.

    Like

  2. You’ve made me glad I trusted that warning about Adam! 😉

    Also, I didn’t realize it’s the end of the month!! I need to write a wrap up post, ack. My favorite read for the month was The Thing About Great White Sharks, a collection of short stories by Rebecca Adams Wright.

    Like

    1. I have that book on my to read list, glad to know it’s a good one! I know, the month kind of snuck up on me! March TBR post tomorrow! Thanks so much for commenting, and can’t wait to see your wrap-up!

      Like

  3. I am SO impressed that you got through 8 books (audio or otherwise) this month! That’s amazing considering your longer reads – way to go! I’ve heard other bloggers comment on the absence of Kristen Bell as narrator. I have to admit I didn’t even know she narrated the first audiobook, but I would definitely imagine it being less enjoyable without her! I had considered Adam before, but this is the second less than favourable review I’ve seen, so I’m glad I ended up steering clear! Great progress this month!

    Like

Leave a Reply

