#FridayReads | February 27, 2015

I have some work related seminar type thing this weekend where we journal about our feelings and sing Kumbaya (slight exaggeration), so really looking forward to that (major sarcasm)! I still should be able to get a reasonable amount of reading done, as my Sunday’s plans include changing out of sleeping pajamas into daytime pajamas, so there’s that…

 

Currently reading…

A Brave Man Seven Storeys Tall: A Novel   A Brave Man Seven Storeys Tallby Will Chancellor

Can I just say it really bothers me that “Storeys” is spelled like that… maybe it has a deeper meaning that I’ll discover. I’ve heard this is better than it sounds, and I’m hoping so – I’ve been feeling very ho-hum about it, so we’ll see how it goes.

 

Currently listening…

Lucky Us   Lucky Us, by Amy Bloom

This is my work book/wine club pick, and our “meeting” is early-ish in March, so hoping to clip through this pretty quickly. It’ll be a little more challenging because it was only available immediately from the library in CD format, versus waiting on the holds list… Can’t say I own a boombox or carry my trusty discman around with me anymore, like in the old days so I might have to drive to the Starbucks that’s further away to get in some listening time… hashtag the struggle is real.

 

What do you have going on this weekend, reading or otherwise?

 

8 thoughts on “#FridayReads | February 27, 2015

  1. I’m excited to see what you think of A Brave New Man – I keep seeing it mentioned across the web. I plan on picking up Oates’s new one Sacrifice (she signed copies at Tattered Cover but I didn’t make it out, sad), and A Darker Shade of Magic – four magical Londons!? I can’t wait!

    Like

    1. I am REALLY intrigued by A Darker Shade of Magic, but feel like I should read Vicious first… even though I know it’s not related… Happy reading, and thanks for commenting! 🙂

      Like

    1. So as I’ve been reading the book, I get it that it’s storeys like there are 3 storeys in this building versus stories like I’m going tell you fifteen stories about my childhood. So, ok, fine… I can move on now.

      Like

  2. See, I’m the opposite! It drives me nuts when I see people referring to the floors in a building as “stories.” I don’t know if it’s the Canadian thing or the British thing, but STOREYS IS THE CORRECT WAY TO SPELL IT! I’ve seen this EVERYWHERE lately and it usually causes me to abandon a book. I just can’t with this. Stories and storeys are NOT THE SAME WORD. Reppin’ for the grammar nazis. 😉

    Like

    1. So… once I started reading the book, I realized it was referring to storeys, like 3 levels in a home, versus stories, like I’m going to read you 3 bedtime stories… so I’m over it now. I’m just silly and didn’t realize that actually WAS the correct spelling when referencing storeys in a house – and also didn’t know the book was talking about storeys, not stories, until I started reading it! I love learning new things like this, so as not to look dumb in the future! 🙂

      Like

      1. It’s possible I was a little over-effusive, but this is a major pet peeve of mine at the moment! I don’t know when or how “storeys” became “stories,” but it seems like I’ve come across this in three or four books lately and I’m having a hard time dealing with it. I may be traumatized.

        Like

Leave a Reply

