The TBR Tag

Time for a tag post! I wasn’t specifically tagged by anyone, but ya know… It sounded like fun, and why not? Based on my research, this tag was created by Rachel from A Perfection Called Books and Dana from Dana Square.

Just as a point of clarity, I’m defining TBR as my personal TBR consisting of books I own that are unread to date. Let’s do this thing….

TBR - dresser (2)   TBR - Kindle   TBR - dresser (1)

1. How do you keep track of your TBR pile?

On Goodreads I have a shelf, intelligently labeled “TBR“, in which I have all the books I currently own, both physical and e-book,  I haven’t read yet. I have two places in my bedroom where I keep all of my unread physical books (see photos above), and after they are read, they get to “graduate” to the downstairs built-in bookshelves in the living room to be displayed in all their glory.

 

2. Is your TBR mostly print or e-book?

Both, but more in physical book. I usually don’t buy books ahead of time in e-book format because I can just buy it at a moment’s notice whenever I want and when I’m ready to read it. The exception is if there’s a cheap deal on a book I know I want to read soon-ish, I will likely take advantage.

 

3. How do you determine which book from your TBR to read next?

I generally read whatever I feel like. I always have a group of books I want to get to in the coming month, and just go from there… and sometimes just forgo my previous plans, and read spontaneously.

 

4. A book that’s been on your TBR list the longest?

War BridesHmmm… probably War Brides, by Helen Bryan on my Kindle. I believe I got this for free, and just haven’t been compelled to read it. Although my friend just finished it, and said it was good… so it’ll happen one of these days.

 

 

5. A book you recently added to your TBR?

Cress (The Lunar Chronicles, #3)I accidentally found myself wandering around a bookstore (this happens to you too, right? ….right?), and ended up purchasing a few books – oops.  I went there specifically to pick up Cress, by Marissa Meyer, which somewhat recently came out in paperback.

 

6. A book on your TBR strictly because of it’s beautiful cover?

Little WomenI would never purchase a book STRICTLY for a beautiful cover, BUT I will hunt around and purchase a specific edition of a book I already want because it’s prettier than the others.  Most recently for me, it was the Penguin Clothbound Classics edition of Little Women, by Louisa May Alcott, which was a Christmas gift from my sister.

 

7. A book on your TBR that you never plan on reading?

Um… none. That’s silly.

 

8. An unpublished book on your TBR that you’re excited for?

Hausfrau(See beautiful covers question above). I’m dying to read this book for some reason. A sentence from the Goodreads synopsis just hooks me: “Anna was a good wife, mostly.” I’m down, and I want it. It comes out March 17th, and I’m going to be ALL.OVER. IT.

 

9. A book on your TBR that basically everyone has read but you?

Norwegian WoodAnything by Margaret Atwood or Haruki Murakami. Oh, the shame! I will be fixing that on both fronts this year.

 

 

 

10. A book on your TBR that everyone recommends to you?

The Magicians Trilogy Boxed SetThe Magicians trilogy, by Lev Grossman. People liken this to a darker, twisty Harry Potter for adults… so yeah, gimme!

 

 

 

11. A book on your TBR that you’re dying to read?

The Martian  The Martianby Andy Weir. I have heard so much amazing-ness about this book, and it is right up my alley.  This needs to happen SOON. Not soon-ish, but SOON.

 

 

12. How many books are on your Goodreads TBR shelf?

So if this question is referencing my personal TBR comprised of the unread books I currently own, then the answer is 73.  If this question is asking how many books I have on my list of books I want to read in general, then the answer is a dauntingly-impossible-and-ever-growing 640.

 

Let me know some of your answers, or link to your tag post in the comments!

 

21 thoughts on “The TBR Tag

      1. Check out NetGalley – lots of ARCs available for bloggers from major and independent publishers. The challenge is to not go too crazy and request ALL THE BOOKS!

        Like

      2. I’ve perused NetGalley before, but haven’t committed to anything yet. I’ll take a look at Edelweiss, thanks! I definitely wouldn’t want more than 1-2 books per month, because I truly enjoy backlist reading and mood reading, and want to be sure to allow for that! Thanks for checking in and commenting!

        Like

    1. Yeah my 70ish isn’t TOO bad, but more than I’ve probably ever had before. I’ve been getting so many books from the library for Tournament reading, and once March is over I’m going to hit my TBR hard!!!! Thanks for commenting 🙂

      Like

  1. Okay, first of all, I am in awe of your physical TBR pile management system. Half the time I have no idea where the book I want to read has gone, and there are more unread than read books in my house because I keep adding to them! Someday I’ll get to your level…. maybe.

    I’m a huge mood reader too! I’ll usually stick to the plan about 1 out of every 10 books. Sometimes I wish I could stick with my list, but on the other hand… meh, who cares?

    I have that same edition of Little Women! It had been on my want list for a while, and when I saw that edition, I just had to have it. I’m devoted to both the Penguin clothbound and Everyman’s Classics for books I love and know I’ll want to re-visit again and again.

    I highly recommend The Martian – it was one of my faves of 2014! It was a lot funnier than I anticipated.

    I haven’t read any Haruki Murakami yet either… and I’m not a fan of Margaret Atwood (which, as a Canadian, is basically treason). I’ve got the Lev Grossman books on my TBR (what a beautiful box set! *want*) and I just requested Hausfrau and am also inexplicably looking forward to it!

    New follower thanks to our Twiter convo – and eagerly anticipating updates on Redeployment and Lucky Us! Can’t wait to hear what you make of them (even if you’re not a fan!).

    Like

    1. Yes, I enjoyed chatting on Twitter. I had to jet out for an appointment this afternoon, but bookmarked your blog as well, and will be re-visiting this evening!

      Do you have more of the Penguin clothbounds? They’re so pretty, but I would prefer to gather them as I’m going to read them. I think once I’m through Little Women (which will be a reread, but am hoping to get to soon), I’m going to pick up either Jane Eyre or The Picture of Dorian Gray… thoughts?

      I’m DYING to get Hausfrau – where do you request it through? I haven’t really done any ARCs yet, and am not sure exactly the means to go about to get them. I don’t want to end up doing too many, but one every now and again would be nice – at least as a start!

      You won’t get any Atwood shame from me, as I haven’t read any myself! Not everyone has to like the same things, and that’s ok – at least I think so!

      Thanks so much for checking out my blog, and commenting! 🙂

      Like

      1. I do actually have a small collection of Penguin clothbounds – most of them I’ve already read, but there are a few I haven’t yet. I’ve read Jane Eyre and it was very good (I vaguely remember staying up until 4AM to finish it when I was still in high school, so it must be). I started Dorian, but found it a bit difficult to get through. It’s dark.

        I don’t do a ton of reviewing for publishers either, I prefer to allow for mood reading. Usually I read books I’ve already got on my shelves or buy them myself, I only request a couple of books a month.

        I read… I think three of Attwood’s? One was alright, the other two not my thing. For Canadians I do like Robertson Davies though. I read most of his books.

        So glad to have “met” you and discovered your blog! 🙂

        Like

  2. I don’t remember the details of it at all – it was more than 15 years ago I read it – just that it had an impact on me. I hope you end up liking it and I haven’t led you wrong!!

    I’m considering giving Redeployment a try soon, if I can get through the books I *have* to read soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply

