2015 Bookish Goals

Nothing too crazy, just a few goals to loosely guide my reading this year!  Let me know what your bookish resolutions are!

 

1. Read 60 books.

I read 91 books in 2014 – definitely the most I’ve ever read in one year in my life.  I want to be able to reach my goal, and I think 5 books per month is still challenging but do-able.

 

2. “15 Books to Read in 2015”  

15 To Read in 2015

This is a list I’ve compiled of books I’ve been meaning to get to for forever, and includes several authors I reeeealllly should have already read, and feel shame for not, such as Margaret Atwood, Toni Morrison, and Haruki Murakami. Track my progress here.

 

3. Finish several previously started series.  

I had a bit of a young adult streak the second half of 2014, and need to play clean-up now!

Percy Jackson series, by Rick Riordan – Books 3, 4 & 5

The Titan's Curse (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #3)     The Battle of the Labyrinth (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #4)     The Last Olympian (Percy Jackson and the Olympians, #5)

Vampire Academy series, by Richelle Mead – Books 3, 4, 5, & 6

Shadow Kiss     Blood Promise (Vampire Academy, #4)     Spirit Bound: : Vampire Academy Volume 5     Last Sacrifice: : A Vampire Academy Novel Volume 6

Infernal Devices series, by Cassandra Clare – Book 3

Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices, #3)

Mortal Instruments series, by Cassandra Clare – Books 4, 5, & 6

City of Fallen Angels (The Mortal Instruments, #4)     City of Lost Souls (The Mortal Instruments, #5)     City of Heavenly Fire (The Mortal Instruments, #6)

 

4. 3 series to read this year.

Mistborn trilogy, by Brandon Sanderson

The Final Empire (Mistborn, #1)     The Well of Ascension (Mistborn, #2)     The Hero of Ages (Mistborn, #3)

The Magicians trilogy, by Lev Grossman

The Magicians (The Magicians, #1)     The Magician King (The Magicians #2)     The Magician's Land (The Magicians, #3)

Bloodlines series, by Richelle Mead

Bloodlines (Bloodlines, #1)     The Golden Lily (Bloodlines, #2)     The Indigo Spell (Bloodlines, #3)

The Fiery Heart (Bloodlines, #4)     Silver Shadows (Bloodlines, #5)     The Ruby Circle (Bloodlines, #6)

 

5. Read (at least) 5 classics.

I don’t have a specific list for this, and will see where the wind takes me.  I have a few in mind, such as Little Women and Anne of Green Gables.  I additionally plan to finish Frankenstein during the Halloween season, which I started around that same time in 2014.

 

6. Track my reading stats.

I have made a nerdy spreadsheet to track various things, more so to learn about my reading habits than to work towards certain percentiles (i.e. 50% female authors).  Some of the information I’m tracking is author gender, number of pages, author nationality, star rating on Goodreads, year published, and so on.  I’m not exactly sure what I will DO with this information, but I think it will be interesting none-the-less.

 

7. Book Riot 2015 Read Harder Challenge

This isn’t so much a goal, but just to follow along and see what things I can check off without really trying.  Already thinking ahead to next year, instead of doing something similar to this year’s project, like “16 Books to Read in 2016”, I’m thinking I might do some kind of check-list or bingo card situation, and the Book Riot list will just be good practice, and maybe give me a few ideas for next year.  Track my progress here.

 

I’ve never made this many specific goals – usually it’s just “to read a lot” – so we shall see how this plays out.  I plan to do quarterly updates to see how I’m doing as the year goes on.

3 thoughts on “2015 Bookish Goals

  1. Those are some cool goals! I also read around 90 books last year but now am aiming for 60, which I think will be abut the amount I’ll be able to get to. Tracking your reading stats is also an interesting idea. I did something similar last year, but instead of tracking it throughout the year I just looked back at the end. I decided to display it just as a comment on my Goodreads challenge: https://www.goodreads.com/user_challenges/1189871

    Good luck with your goals, looking forward to seeing how well you do! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

